Portrane, Donabate, Rush & Lusk Wastewater Treatment Scheme, Dublin



    The four communities of Portrane, Donabate, Rush & Lusk are located in North Dublin within the Fingal County Council administrative area. The four areas are located on the coast and are positioned around the Rogerstown Estuary with Rush & Lusk to the north, and Portrane and Donabate to the south.

    The progression of the scheme initially involved the construction of the new wastewater treatment plant (WWTP) at Portrane, the three key network pumping stations, at Donabate, Portrane and Whitestown, and the associated principal rising mains and sewers. Subsequently, the advance sewer network and the main sewer network contract were tendered and constructed.

    We were appointed by Fingal County Council to carry out a review of the scheme design and to procure and administer the various contracts required. This project was subsequently novated over to Irish Water. Project scope includes, Design, Review, Planning, Detailed Design, Tender Documents, Tender Assessment, Construction Supervision, Testing & Commissioning and Handover.

    Key features of this project:

    • 65,000 PE WWTP (Disinfected secondary effluent)
    • Three main pumping stations (222l/s-498l/s D/S)
    • Seven outlying pumping stations
    • 11 km rising mains
    • 19 km sewer network upgrade
    • DN1000 x 1km long marine outfall
    • 600m estuary crossing
    Client: Irish Water & Fingal County Council
    Location: Co. Dublin
    Value: €50 Million